CCAO presents the first edition of County Leader, CCAO’s quarterly e-magazine. Each issue will provide an in-depth look at the news, programs and policies affecting Ohio’s 88 counties. Click here to open the full issue.


DATE:      SEPTEMBER 21, 2018




I have been appointed by CCAO President Daniel Troy to serve as chair of the CCAO Nominating Committee for 2018.  Other members of the Committee include:

  1. Tony Anderson, Fayette County Commissioner
  2. Lenny Eliason, Athens County Commissioner
  3. Ted Kalo, Lorain County Commissioner
  4. Holly Stacy, Seneca County Commissioner

The CCAO Bylaws entrust us with the responsibility of recommending candidates for the offices of president, first vice president, secretary, treasurer, and eight members of the Board of Directors for a two-year term of office.  In addition, the Committee will fill any vacancies in the event that members previously elected to serve in 2019 will not be returning to office or where a member forfeits office for non-attendance.  The CCAO Bylaws provide that the Board of Directors is composed of up to 35 members:  five officers, 15 elected board members, nine members appointed by the president, and the six most recent past presidents who still hold the office of county commissioner, elected executive, or member of the legislative authority of any charter county.

The Nominating Committee is also governed by a Board resolution adopted in 2011  that limits the number of consecutive years a person can serve as either Treasurer (not more than three consecutive years) or Secretary (not more than one consecutive year). Also, persons serving in the offices of Treasurer and Secretary must be of different political parties.  In addition, in order to be eligible to be nominated as an officer, an individual must be from a member county and have served a term of at least one year on the CCAO Board of Directors.

The Nominating Committee is also governed by the following procedures adopted in 2015:

  • The Nominating Committee should place on the ballot the names of all eligible candidates who have requested to be nominated to the office of Second Vice President.  The person receiving the highest number of votes at the election conducted during the annual business meeting would be elected to the office of Second Vice President.
  • The Nominating Committee should automatically nominate the then-sitting Second Vice President for the office of First Vice President, and the then-sitting First Vice President for the office of President.
  • Nominations other than the Nominating Committee’s for the offices of Secretary, Treasurer, First Vice President and President, will only be accepted from the floor at the election.
  • Also new is a Bylaws amendment that was adopted in 2015 that allows the CCAO President to serve more than one year as long as the years are not consecutive.

We also want to remind members that the Bylaws requires each member county designate an Official Representative and Alternate when voting at the Annual Meeting or any special meeting of the Association.

The designation of the Official Representative and Alternate for a county organized under the statutory form of county government is by resolution of the board of county commissioners. In the case of a county organized as a charter county, the elected executive designates, by a letter signed by the executive, the Official Representative and an Alternate. Please note in designating the Official Representative and Alternate, a member county may only name a county commissioner, elected executive, or a member of county council.

Click here for a memo explaining the process along with a sample Designation of Official Representative and Alternate Resolution and a sample letter for County Executives. If you have not already done so, please send a copy of your resolution or letter  designating your Official Representative and Alternate to Marilou Lamb, CCAO, 209 East State Street, Columbus, Ohio 43215-4309 or at so that we may maintain a record of the names in our files for voting purposes.  Should you have any questions or to confirm that we have received a copy of your resolution or letter, please contact Marilou Lamb at 1-888-757-1904 or at

The seven members whose terms to the Board expire this year include Commissioners Chris Day (Preble), Pete Gerken (Lucas), Casey Kozlowski (Ashtabula), Gary Merrell (Delaware) and Glenn Miller (Henry). Ann Obrecht (Wayne) was appointed to fill a one-year unexpired term of Tim Bubb (Licking) who was elected CCAO secretary. Cory Noonan was appointed to fill the one-year unexpired term of Carl Davis (Monroe) who was elected CCAO 2nd vice president.

The nine members appointed by President Troy whose one year term to the Board expires at the end of this year include:  Tom Collier, Knox County Commissioner; Bob Corbett, Champaign County Commissioner; Mike Crabtree, Scioto County Commissioner; Bob Glaser, Greene County Commissioner; Ted Kalo, Lorain County Commissioner; John O’Grady, Franklin County Commissioner; John Love, Putnam County Commissioner; Paula Prentice, Summit County Council Member; and Holly Stacy, Seneca County Commissioner.

The CCAO Bylaws also provide that the six most recent past presidents who still hold the office of county commissioner, elected executive or member of the legislative authority of any charter county or any county organized under an alternative form of county government and who elect to serve as a member may have a seat on the Board of Directors. Should they choose to accept a seat on the board, in 2019 those individuals will include:  Daniel Troy, Lake County Commissioner (2018); Edwin Humphrey, Clermont County Commissioner (2017); Doug Corcoran, Ross County Commissioner (2016); Mike Halleck, Columbiana County Commissioner (2015); Deborah Lieberman, Montgomery County Commissioner (2012); and Lenny Eliason, Athens County Commissioner (2006).

The CCAO Board of Directors typically meets nine times a year, and with no more than 35 commissioners serving on the Board, attendance and participation is vital.  While there are circumstances where an individual cannot attend a meeting, this should not be the norm.  I must stress that fact that we need people who are committed to attending and participating in a majority of the meetings.

The Nominating Committee Report will be published on the web at  on November 19.  The Business Meeting for election of officers and board members is scheduled for Monday, December 10, 2018.  Nominations will also be accepted from the floor.

If you are interested in serving on the Board for a two-year term or as an officer, please complete the attached Nominating Committee Request Form. You can request consideration for more than one office.  Also note that if you request consideration to serve on the Board for a two-year term and/or as an officer and are not nominated, your name will automatically be submitted for a Presidential Appointment to the Board of Directors.  You are also requested to fill out and return the attached candidate questionnaire with your CCAO Nominating Committee Form.

Both forms must be returned no later than October 19 to the committee chair: Kerry Metzger, 125 E. High Avenue, New Philadelphia, OH  44663 or email to

 In addition, mail a copy to CCAO, 209 E. State Street, Columbus, OH 43215-4309, in an envelope marked:  NOMINATING COMMITTEE – ATTENTION:  MARILOU LAMB or you may email your form to

If you have any questions, feel free to contact CCAO Nominating Committee Chair Kerry Metzger at (330) 365-3240 or CCAO Executive Director Suzanne Dulaney at (614) 221-5627.

Click here for a link to the memo and form.